Today was my first day of classes! I was really scared for this day because I was very intimidated by the idea of starting classes at a new university (a very large one in comparison to Roanoke, PUCV=17000 students, Roanoke = 2000 students) let alone the fact that it is in a foreign country where I do not have many friends yet. Add to that the fact that the classes are in my second language and ya...intimidating! I had to get up early this morning because I was supposed to go to the International Students office before class. When I got to the office the secretary was like, "No, you don't need to get anything here" (In Spanish of course!) so I ended up sitting around for close to an hour. University life is not very organized here in Chile, no one really knows anything about what is going on in other parts of the University. Example, for my Spanish Literature class we are supposed to start reading a story "El Abencerraje" which the professor said would be online through our library. After looking for it and talking with countless staff members we found out that none of the libraries in the University has it and that they do not know how we can get it. Needless to say the lack of organization is frustrating to the Americans but just something that we are going to have to get used to.
Both of my classes went well, my Spanish literature class is going to be a stretch but definitely is worth it. My class consists of mostly other Americans so that will be good because then we can all study together. My grammar class is all extranjero (foreign) students and our professor is awesome! He is very sympathetic and amable (nice.) For both of the classes our grades are based completely on three exams but it sounds like the professors really want you to pass so they will work with you to make sure you do okay. I am now back at home at least for a little while. I might go out with some of my amigas later.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment